Daniel Tiger Party

1

June 24, 2015 by 2princessees

The final birthday party I planned in 2015 was a Daniel Tiger party for Little E’s third birthday. It became pretty obvious that Daniel Tiger was her very favorite thing this year, so that is how we picked the theme. She sings the catchy tunes all the time. She pretends to be the characters. She requested a Tigey cake just like the one in the show. Oh my! Read on to find out how that went…

Of course, the planning started with a Pinterest board full of ideas. Once I had a ton of ideas, I had to put them together to make my own party. Of course, there were a lot of homemade decorations and DIY projects to be done.

We were nervous about having the party at the park again this year. In the week leading up to the big day, it was calling for rain. Finally, on Friday, the forecast changed and it was going to be hot and sunny. You’ll notice in the pictures everyone looks super hot. It was one of the hottest days we have so far this year! Luckily, there were plenty of drinks to help keep everyone as cool as possible.

The Invitation

Once we decided that we would have the party at the park again this year, we set the date so we could get the invitations out. While setting up my pinterest board, I found many invitations that I liked, so I took aspects of each one that I liked and made my own. I made these invitations on picmonkey by using the Create setting. I started with a chevron pattern that I liked and added everything else in. To get the characters, I searched for PNG images. PNG images have a transparent background so they work better than images with white backgrounds.

invitationblog

The Dress

From the beginning, I knew that I would make Little E a Katerina Kittycat dress to wear for her party. I used a mash up of CKC’s Maggie and Blanche dresses to get the look.  Finding the perfect patterns was easy. Finding the perfect fabric turned out to be a challenge! I carried the little Katerina Kittycat toy from our collection around in my purse, so that I could get the colors just right. Eventually, I found the perfect fabrics and buttons so I could get to work.

We took Little E to get her pictures taken a bit before her party, and she did not want to take her dress off! She wants to wear it as soon as it’s clean, so I would say it was a huge hit with her!

PicMonkey Collage

The Food

This year, we got new carpet the week before Little E’s party. We moved everything out and back in again over a course of three days. Needless to say, we went easy on the food this time around. All the cake was from a box (gasp!), but I did make homemade icing. There is no compromise there.  Here’s the menu:

  • grilled burgers and hot dogs (used park’s grill)
  • toppings, condiments, and buns
  • fruit salad
  • veggie tray
  • cheetos (Little E’s favorite chip)
  • juice, soda, tea, water
  • chocolate or funfetti cake, both gluten free boxed mixes, with buttercream icing

I made food tents to go with the menu items that included themes from the show like “You gotta try new foods cause it might taste good.” I know you are singing that in your head right now.

For the cake, I was just too busy to do a homemade cake. Little E wanted a Tigey cake just like the one in the show, but let’s just say that was a huge Pinterest fail. Luckily, I had tried it out a couple weeks ahead of time, and not the night before the party! But hey, we learn from the show that:

11141351_10155581886625521_1808185131402874117_n

For the party, I made a 6 inch layer cake and stuck some Daniel Tiger characters in and called it a day. I can sew, not decorate cakes!PicMonkey Collage2

The Activities

Obstacle Course

We had so much fun doing my nephews obstacle course,that we decided to make another one. This time, the course was based off of a book:Welcome to the Neighborhood!In the book, the friends go around the neighborhood asking for help as they prepare for a special visitor. In our course:

  • we started at the castle which was a picture of the castle on a wooden stake
  • took the trolley (crawled through decorated refrigerator box)
  • played instruments at Music Man Stan’s
  • stirred ingredients at Baker Aker’s
  • put on a cape and ran to
  • the clock factory where we ran around the sign and yelled “Ugga Mugga!”

PicMonkey Collage3

Make an Instrument at Music Man Stan’s

My kids love crafts, so we had a craft at our party. We made paper plate shakers. Well, actually, I put in the beans and glued them shut before the party. The kids decorated them with stickers, crayons, and ribbons.

Decorate your cupcake at Baker Aker’s

From experience, I didn’t dare have the kids decorate the entire cupcake. I prefrosted the cupcakes and the kids decorated them with candies and sprinkles.

Scavenger Hunt

In one episode of the show Daniel and Prince Wednesday go on a scavenger hunt. Our scavenger hunt was really more like an Easter egg hunt. They had to find five items, one from each character. The items they found were their party favors to take home. They put them in a small flat rate box from the post office. I had to tie in Mr McFeely, the mailman, somehow!

PicMonkey Collage4

The Decorations/Favors

Since the party was at the park, there weren’t a ton of decorations. I hung a Happy Birthday pennant banner on the food table. I made it using the same chevron and images that I used to make the invitation. I also had balloons in pails on the tables that kept tipping over, and the trolley box used in the obstacle course.

The favors were found during the scavenger hunt mentioned above. Each guest had to find the following items:

  • Daniel Tiger: Tigertastic car
  • Katerina Kittycat loves to twirl: Carousel ticket (our park has a carousel)
  • O the Owl loves to read: coloring book made with pages printed from pbs
  • Miss Elaina says Hi-ya Toots!: Tootsie rolls
  • Prince Wednesdays favorite golden rock: rock with gold glitter on it

PicMonkey Collage6

This was another great party, and we had fun planning it!  Happy birthday, Little E. We love you!

abc

One thought on “Daniel Tiger Party

  1. Love it! The dress is just perfect👌

    Like

Leave a Reply

WordpressPinterestFacebookEmailEtsyinstagram

Categories

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

